Maryland Author Award

The Maryland Library Association established the Maryland Author Award in 1996 to honor Maryland authors. Each year a committee of MLA members grants the award in one of four rotating genres: adult fiction, youth literature, poetry and non-fiction. The winning author receives the award at the MLA annual conference and speaks at a conference meal function. The MLA also distributes to conference attendees a brochure highlighting the author and other notable Maryland authors. The conference is the largest gathering of librarians in the state and an ideal venue for increasing awareness of Maryland literature and publishing.

MLA has established an endowment fund to support this award permanently. An ongoing campaign to raise $60,000 for the fund is appealing to foundations, vendors, MLA members and individuals who support libraries and literacy. Please help MLA to continue this important effort to honor and promote Maryland authors by contributing to the endowment fund.

For 2018, the MLA Maryland Author Award Committee will select a children's author who best exemplifies the style and writing that merits this honor. For more information or to nominate an author, please contact Lisa Kenyon at Committee members will judge a living author's work using the following criteria:

  • Merit
  • Readability
  • Strength of the author's or the work's relationship to Maryland
  • Amount, volume, or quantity of the body of work
  • Nominations or comments from readers, including members of the committee
  • Receipt of one or more writing or literary awards

For the price of a good book!

Join the select group which funds the Maryland Author Award Endowment.

The Maryland Author Award was established in 1996 by the MLA to honor Maryland authors. An endowment fund exists to permanently support this award. Your donation ensures the funds necessary to honor and promote Maryland authors.

You can mail contributions to the Maryland Library Association, Author Endowment Fund, 1401 Hollins Street, Baltimore, MD 21223.