Distinguished Service Award

Previous Winners

The purpose of the Maryland Library Association Distinguished Service Award is to recognize a Maryland resident who has demonstrated effective library advocacy over an extended period of time and whose contribution to libraries transcends the boundaries of one county or political jurisdiction in Maryland.

Any Maryland resident who is not a library employee is eligible for the Award. No person may receive the Award more than once. Recipients might include:

  • Library advocates, trustees or friends
  • Legislators on the local, state or national level
  • Elected or appointed government officials
  • School/academic administrators
  • Foundation/corporate leaders
  • Attorneys who have successfully championed libraries

The recipient of the Award will have provided successful and sustained advocacy or lobbying on behalf of library development, funding, services, customers or staff on the state or national level.

The Chair of the Awards Committee will forward the name of the Distinguished Service Award recipient to Chair of the MLA Legislative Panel for approval prior to submission to the MLA Executive Board.