Annual Awards

Congratulations to our 2017 Annual Award recipients!

Emerging Leader Award
Jen Bishop

Honorary Membership
Dr. Carla Hayden

Distinguished Service Award
Wicomico County Library Board

The Maryland Library Association recognizes special people who have contributed to libraries in Maryland. We need YOUR nominations for the awards listed below. The MLA Awards Committee encourages you to submit a nomination for anyone you think deserves an award.  Recipients are honored at the MLA Annual Conference in May.

Your nomination should take the form of a short essay about the person you are nominating.  Please include evidence that demonstrates why the person you are nominating is deserving of the award.  And please include your contact information, as well as a way that we can contact your nominee.

There are multiple ways to submit a nomination:

  • Complete our online form to submit your nomination electronically.
  • Submit your nomination in the form of an email message to Awards Chair Cindy Steinhoff at
  • Mail your nomination to Award Chair Cindy Steinhoff, Andrew G. Truxal Library, Anne Arundel Community College, 101 College Parkway, Arnold, MD 21012.
  • Fax your nomination to Cindy Steinhoff at 410-777-4483.

Please submit your nominations by November 10, 2017.

Please note: MLA also distributes annual awards to a Maryland author through the Maryland Author Award and for children's books through the Maryland Blue Crab Young Reader Award.